FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Perfectionism - is it good or bad?

tidruG
I'm posting this in the Philosophy and Religion forum because I'm looking for some good, interesting, well-thought of replies. Here we go:

I'm a bit of a perfectionist. I'm generally never satisfied with something I do, even if I try to improve it quite a few times. The end result is that generally whatever I'm trying to do/make ends up being pretty good (based on the limits of how well I can do it... for instance, my satisfaction levels for PHP-based design are pretty low because I'm a PHP Novice). However, sometimes, it just leaves me feeling a little frustrated/unhappy, and sometimes, causes me to lose interest in the project.

My question is...
How do you view perfectionism?
Do you think it's good because it makes you keep improving something?
Do you think it's bad because a highly perfectionist person may never really be satisfied with the end result?
wumingsden
I guess I'm a bit of a perfectionist, and don't mind admitting it.

Although it is postive because it means I improve on something whatever I do, in the end this doesn't matter because I'm never happy with the end product, even if other people think it's a good thing.

However, this doesn't usually make me lose interest in whatever I'm trying to achieve perfection in (ie. Just about everything).
An example is a premodded forum which I have been creating for over half a year. It has been ready so many times I've almost lost count, but then I decide that it's actually not good enough for me to release even when people like it.