FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Fahrenheit 451 should be required reading.

Have you read Fahrenheit 451?
Yes I have
93%
 93%  [ 14 ]
Nope never read it.
6%
 6%  [ 1 ]
Total Votes : 15

vw_bugg
I have read this book over and over. It is a slap in the face and points out the extremes of censorship. This is a good way to introduce the idea of censorship

I am most impressed with the way the books are preserved i wish that i had the dedication reqired to do that.

What do you guys think?
Have you read it?

This might have a spoiler on it!
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fahrenheit_451
Afaceinthematrix
I have read it. it is an important book because it shows the power of censorship and what a government can do. I had to read it a long time ago... when I was a Freshman in high school I think...
Anotherevil
In my honest opinion, I don't think any book should be a compulsory book to read. There's no use making someone read it because in the end, if they don't want to read it they will use something like Sparknotes and get it over with.
But the book on the other hand, very nicely written and does tell you about the extremities of censorship. I love how they say that you actually remember everything you read but just need to as such harness the power of your brain to remember it.

Btw, I think there was a movie made on this book, back in the 70's. Horrible movie let me tell you that much!
evanc88
The book presents the extremist idea of banning all books. Just as extreme, but on the other end, would be to require everyone to read a certain thing. Curriculum in schools, however, is a little different.