FRIHOSTFORUMSSEARCHFAQTOSBLOGSCOMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Honesty in interviews

hunterm
How honest are you in job interviews?

I'm an IT contractor and about to complete a course in a new technology. Problem is that I won't have any experience in it. Should I blag (lie) in my interviews saying I've got the experience or should I tell the truth.

What would you do?
brokenadvice
Tell the truth. If it comes out later you had no clue what you were doing that could be pretty bad. Just say you have little experience in that field, but are actively seeking advancement in it.
Azmo
agree.. always tell the truth about this stuff.. they will find out otherwise.. but if you are honest it's a good chance they will educate you abit and you will learn and get experience Very Happy
greatfire
Truth for sure. You can lie about little things but not about how much experience you have, it will come back to bight you.
Insanity
I agree, something like experience is really easy to tell if you're lying about it, and you'll soon get into a situation where it won't be fun.
hunterm
I can see what you are all saying and would normally agree with you in any other situation. But as an IT contractor they don't tend to take people on unless they have a couple of years experience and I've been on quite a few projects where they've demanded certain things in interviews and you find the situation on the ground is quite different. Many times I've found that the roles are quite different on a job to how they were described in the interview.

I think I'll try the honesty approach first, and if I have no luck.... then I'll try careful exaggeration... If still no luck, then I'll try blatant lying Shocked
akshar
Its always nice to speak the truth.But some companies also see that how confidently you can say the false thing.But according to me you should prove that without having experience you can do your work well
Daisie