FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

what do you think about my new laptop?

mjohnson
I bought a new laptop last week,beacause I am a student and I have no more money to buy an advanced computer.
CPU Intel Celeron M processor 430(1.73GHz,533MHz FSB,1M L2 cache)
14.1" WXGA CrystalBrite LCD
Mobile Intel 940 GML Express Chipset
80G HHD
DVD/CD-RW Combo
512 MB DDR2

It is very cheap,about 600$.
please give me some comments about my new PC...
yjwong
It is not a very good choice, especially the processor. I guess you have no other choice due to your budget limitation. I would rather get an entry level Intel Core laptop, along with an entry-level graphics card. Your laptop might be sufficient for general use, for example with word processing applications - but considering the RAM, it might not be able to cope with high resolution image editing, for example Photoshop. I'm very sure that your laptop cannot cope with the requirements of Vista as it does not contain any external PCIe graphics card that supports DirectX 10.
Cee_Jay
status= used
brand dell...15 inches screen
512 RAM
1.6Ghz pentium processor
80gb HDD
DVD writer
wireless modem+LAN card

price= $530 almost

How do you coment this ?
tomahawk19
If I were you mjohnson I would have saved up a bit more and spent a bit more on a laptop. That one is slower than my 4 year old laptop that I bought for 850 at the time (because of bulk discount, got it through my dad's work while I was in college). But still it would have cost me around 1100, for it or so. I just bought a new one for less than a grand out the door, and it's pretty nice, there are others nicer, but it runs vista very nicely, I can do everything I need with it. What brand is it? I'm not trying to make you feel bad, I just think it was somewhat of a bad choice...You should have waited and saved...