FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

which Programing launguage to learn

looseballs
Hi, im a noob, learning a bit of a bunch of launguages, so i decided it was time to settle on one for now, but which one? I will not make this a poll as there are 2 many launguages to list and that i just need this for personal information. Please tell me, which programming launguage should i start with??? I have HTML and a little bit of other launguages, but thats it. I also know that HTML isnt worth a .... when learning other launguages. PLEASE HELP!
qebab
If you are completely new to programming, I would personally suggest Ruby, or Python. I have done a bit of coding with these two, and also PHP, and tried out C++.

What I can say about them is so far:
Ruby seems very logical from the point of view of someone who is not a programmer, as does Python. Both of these require little coding to make functional programs, as opposed to C++ where you have to write a lot more code to do something. C++ however, benchmarks better when it comes to speed, so if you need to run a demanding program many times, I suppose that's a better alternative. But it isn't really a beginners language.

PHP is easier to get on the web than Python/Ruby, as you basically just write a php file, upload it and can read it with your browser. There's more work to it with both Python and Ruby, but if you have support for frameworks (for instance Ruby on Rails) you don't have to do that much work, and you get a very nice end result.

This is a very nice tutorial to start out with for Ruby: Learning to Program, by Chris Pine
One for Python: Here.

Ok, just joking, the python tutorial is here. This is really a book, not a tutorial, but from the little I've read of it, it seems decent.

I haven't done much with, or read much about PHP, as the things I've used it for have been very simple, so I can only lead you to this google search.