FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

about ruby on rails

cloudship
hi all,

i recently get known to this language/framework, which claims to be able to make the development of data-dariven website much easier and user-friendly than ever before.

do you guys happen to be acquainted with it and can anyone give me some advice whether I should go for it and how can I start?

many thanks in advance.

I'm no programmer and only code for fun.
cloudship
cloudship wrote:
hi all,

i recently get known to this language/framework, which claims to be able to make the development of data-dariven website much easier and user-friendly than ever before.

do you guys happen to be acquainted with it and can anyone give me some advice whether I should go for it and how can I start?

many thanks in advance.

I'm no programmer and only code for fun.

moreover, could you please compare RoR with Perl language in the usage and popularity? That will be of great help.
MrBlueSky
Well, that's a difficult question. It all depends on what you want, and where your priorities are.

Let's start with just plain Ruby: do you know it? Do you like it? If so, stick with it. It's popularity is (still) growing, but it's hard to tell what will be left of it when the hype is over. Ruby isn't really difficult to learn, yet it is powerfull and will teach you some good object oriented programming.

And Perl... well... it's popularity among a large group of programmers will never vanish. It's a powerfull language, and allows you to develop and prototype scripts for every imagable task quickly. But, although easy to learn, it's hard to master, often hard to read and understand and it's 'many ways to do things'-philosophy is hated by a lot of programmers.