You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Dreamweaver Help!

Does anybody else use Dreamweaver MX2004 for their site development???

I need a little help in developing a type of password protection so that only our present clients may download product manuals specific to that particular client.
I believe I need ColdFusion as well in order to create the database or something??

How do I go about accomplishing this task, considering that I am not a professional web designer or anything like that??
Here you can find some information about ColdFusion: .

We do not offer it on frihost. There are very few hosts that have it. (I never saw one) However, I heared a lot of good things about it.
Do you just want to make a members area on your website, Like on this forum, you have to login to make a post? If So, all you need is a php code.
Simulator wrote:
Do you just want to make a members area on your website, Like on this forum, you have to login to make a post? If So, all you need is a php code.

Not just a code but also a database to store them.
Well you dont really need a database if you use .htaccess and htpass. And they work great. You can set it up so that only certain users get access to certain directories. Use a G*oogle search for full instructions on how to set it up, there are many tutorials on the web about it.

A easy way to set up authentication via .htaccess files is using cPanel. Go into cPanel and there should be an option like 'Protected Directories'
Okay!...this is how I would like it...

When the user clicks on the "Manuals" button, a type of Log In page or pop-up comes up requesting the user to enter a Product Number (relative to the product they purchased, that we have provided) and a password (also specific to that product). Then depending on whether the info they entered has been validated, a single download page comes up with the link to download the specific product manual.