FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

pay rise?

fbcompany
G'day, I've never asked for a pay rise before, and I think I should have. Anyway, here is my situation:

I'm a Data Analyst by title, but my position is more in the data maintenance (not data entry) and dba side of things. I think.

My Job:
- In my current role I've got around 22months of experience. I'm what they call at work a senior DA, though I've never had a pay rise to suit (besides CPI which isn't a payrise, and last year I think it was below CPI).
- I'm contracted by my company to a client that pays roughly $250,000 to my company for my services.
- I have (mainly tech/network support) experience predating my job that comes in handy every day.
- My qualifications are as follows: Diploma in eBusiness, Redhat Certified Tech (not needed in current position), administration courses in certain proprietry software (for the system I maintain), other mutliple short courses in DB design.
- My professional experience before this job is as follows: 1yr Tech support for an ISP which wasn't going down some flow chart crap, 2yrs network support for around 150 clients. Other freelance work which looks good on a resume.
- Am I replacable? Not easily. The knowledge which I have is only really gained through experience. If I left in 4 weeks, they'd defenitely feel it. They have 5 new people which they need me to help train, so I figure I'll ask for a pay rise before they get trained, and it's not an easy job to just come into because of the terminology of the industry.