FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Linux

KHO
Ok, so I downloaded a program I need (Samba), I installed Debian onto a computer, but im completely new to linux. How can I get the downloaded file into a package so I can install it (It was a .tar.gz file, inside of the archive was a debian-unstable dir which is what im using)
qscomputing
You can probably get a precompiled version for your system using apt
Unfortunately I don't use debian so I don't know the ins and outs of apt, but if you have a package manager called Synaptic you'll probably find it in there.
Then it will download and install everything automatically for you. HTH.
{name here}
KHO wrote:
Ok, so I downloaded a program I need (Samba), I installed Debian onto a computer, but im completely new to linux. How can I get the downloaded file into a package so I can install it (It was a .tar.gz file, inside of the archive was a debian-unstable dir which is what im using)

Code:

apt_get samba

If you have a GUI installed you can use Aperture(In GNOME it was called Package Manager IIRC), which is a GUI frontend to the package manager you can use to install things. I haven't use Debian in a year or two, though.
ayvee
still, if you want to install from your downloaded package, do the following.

navigate to the folder containing your downloaded file. double click on it to open it in the archive manager. click extract all files. now open the newly created directory. open the README or INSTALL files. any further instructions will be present there.

usually you'll have to open a commandline, navigate to this directory, and then execute make or install.sh or something like that. the readme file should give you all the details.
redice
Use apt-get to install samba instead of build from source:

Code:
apt-get install samba

Edit the config file /etc/samba/smb.conf , and restart it:

Code:
/etc/init.d/samba restart

All will work well.
KHO