FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Why Do You Watch Movies?

Dean_The_Great
Just like the topic says: Why do you watch movies?

I watch movies because I like to appreciate the talent of the actors and the production staff in creating a movie that is a complete work of art.

I want to see good acting, excellent directing, and a plot that intrigues me intellectually.

A simple, predictable, shoot 'em up, blow it up, action flick just doesn't do it for me.
Yjaxygames
For fun, but also because the storyline is great (StarWars for example). I think it's very important for a film to really suck the viewer in. To get in somekind of light trance. And when the movie is over, you're still enjoying the film. Rolling Eyes
desertwind
Many reasons.

One reason may be i always wanted to be a film maker.

I was an stage artist myself, and know the pain of acting. I used to direct and produce plays, so knows the pain of those behind the screens.

For sure it's a great form of art.
RallyMonkey
To be entertained. That's the only reason I do anything, in the long run.
HoboPelican
I think the answer for me is escapism. When I go to see a flick I want to forget the world outside and experience a different reality. The direction, cinematography, acting and special effects all help, but it is the story and the writing that are the most important thing in immersing me into the film.

Films like the Godfather and Citizen Cane are always held up as being some of the best films of all time, but I swear to God, there is not enough popcorn in the world to make me see either of them again. Why? Despite all other factors, the story material bored me to death.
bigdan
Three reasons:

1 - To get a laugh

2 - To escape the world for an hour or two

3 - Because everything on TV sucks balls, particularly Australian TV.
Fright Knight