FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Web Site That Works with different resolutions?

anto90202
Hi guys i'm new to web design and i just made a web site with flash and dreamweaver 8.The site looks great at 1024x768 but when i change resolution (e.g. 800x600,1280x720) i have problems.
endless
i not sure but i think u can use this script, paste it in the head tags.
Code:

<script type="text/javascript">
   <!--
      window.moveTo (0,0);
      window.resizeTo (screen.availWidth, screeb.availHeigth);

//-->
</script>

tell me if its working
GB
The above will work if the user has their screen set to 1024x768, however, there are still people out there with smaller screens. And then there are those with bigger screens which will get a bunch of dead space around your content.

If you are truly concerned with usability issues, I would consider using flash just for movies embedded in the website and not for navigation. Also, consider using CSS which dreamweaver supports fairly well from my understanding. Make it liquid so it will fill whatever space the user has given it.

Good luck with your site!
Pryme8
that is compleatly fixable! you just need to set up and format your tables correctly... I would recomend designing your site for 800 by 600 becuase most of your views are not going to be at a resolution higher then that...

www.prymedesign.com if you look at my site, no matter how you resize or what pxls your set at, my page will always fit and not look weird, which is very important because of the lines in the background, if the alignment goes off by even 1, it looks sloppy!

remember you can type in absolute pxls, and percents in table widths and heights, also remember that * in the width or heiht will use all the remaining space!
{name here}
If you choose to redo your site in CSS and HTML, the simplest way is to use percentages to define the size in your table cells or divs.
littlegiant
Quote: