FRIHOSTFORUMSSEARCHFAQTOSBLOGSCOMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

What do these look like to you?

horseatingweeds
Take a look at this page and tell me what you think these are.

http://www.efficientpresence.com/glass.htm

Well crap! I forgot about the URL.

Also, dont look at the URL before you look at the web page.....
Dragate
They look like random boxes to me.

Since it's a webdesign site, and it's supposed to be glass, I would guess that they are actually images to parts of layouts, or buttons or some kind.

If you are planning on using something like that, I would advise not. The colour and the whole concept of those little pictures don't look all that asthetically appealing.

What ever they are I'm sure they are for a good reason Very Happy
horseatingweeds
My idea is to create a webpage that looks like it is made of glass. I’m not a Photoshop expert so I’m trying to figure out a good technique for producing something that looks like sheets of glass.

If you imagine a sheet of glass really hard, then look at my graphics, they do look like glass for a few seconds. I call that progress….
IceCreamTruck
There is a free image manipulation program called the G.I.M.P. (GNU Image Manipulation Project) and it's totally free and available online for download at http://gimp.org

I recomend taking pictures of glass with a digital camera and seeing what different types of glass and colors do to give the appearance of glass.

You might take different approaches depending on weather or not you want it to look like window glass or bottle glass.

There are filters in the gimp that you can play around with that are called glass effects and they do a pretty good job if you get to know them and know what to expect if you apply the effect or filter to your image.

In cartoons glass is denoted by three diagonal lines down the middle of the "window" I will try and post more images for you to take a look at once i'm near my other computer.