FRIHOSTFORUMSSEARCHFAQTOSBLOGSCOMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Racial terminology...

Which term(s) are neutral (or closest to neutral) for the modern description of a person of African descent born in America?
African-American
45%
 45%  [ 15 ]
Black
48%
 48%  [ 16 ]
Colored
0%
 0%  [ 0 ]
Negro
6%
 6%  [ 2 ]
Total Votes : 33

quex
EDIT: Thank, folks. The terms supplied to the teacher in response to his question were "black," with a note that "African-American" is also widely used in sensitive situations. Additionally, I am very, very glad that as of this edit, nobody has voted for "colored." It is indeed offensive, and was only included as it was used commonly in the MLKJr texts and the larger Civil Rights Movement.

Disclaimer: The following thread is not intended to offend or criticize any person of any ethnic background.

That said, here we go.

I work in a school in Japan where I assist in the instruction of English and American society. While doing research or Martin Luther King Jr. Day, a teacher asked me exactly what the correct, neutral term for "people of that skin color" is among Americans.

Now, I tend towards "African-American," but I almost wonder if that is too politically moulded to be neutral. The term "black" is used relatively widely on television and the radio... but that's television and the radio. In his most famous speeches, Dr. King often used the word "negro," but AGAIN, the conditions of the Civil Rights Movement meant that "negro" and "colored" were common terms on both sides.

THE QUESTION:

Which term(s) are neutral (or closest to neutral) for the modern description of a person of African descent born in America?

African-American
Black
Colored
Negro

...or any less-offensive words that I may have blatantly forgotten.

Please help me figure this one out. Thank you.
reddishblue
Black and African-American, Black especially, they themselves use it
Captain Fertile