FRIHOSTFORUMSSEARCHFAQTOSBLOGSCOMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Making money from your hobby

ludio_
I've been a musician for a long time and taught music in high schools but now i'm retired i have been playing in a band and have learned about recording as a hobby. Last week i recorded a demo for an advertising jingle and was paid AUD$500! If the ad campaign goes ahead there are 36 recordings to do (12 versions in three languages)... all i was doing was having fun! woot!

Does anyone else have a hobby they make money from?
Bofia
im sure that blogging is a hobby that many people make money with
jipmerite
Congrats on your recording deal. My longtime hobbies are reading novels and keeping aquariums and aviaries. So not much hope of making a significant living from those. In recent times I have developed an interest in the world wide web. I have heard that some people earn a lot through their blogs. It's a fascinating idea for me. But it takes a lot of know how I guess.
Captain Fertile
Hey well done! Applause

They say that if you can make money from something you trully enjoy then you will never work another day in your life.

Here's hoping things take off for you.
prilly_baby
hey good job!
As a hobby I paint and I'm planning to make enough paintings and have an exhibition. If all goes well, i hope people will be interested in my work ^^
ludio_
Captain Fertile wrote:
Hey well done! Applause

They say that if you can make money from something you trully enjoy then you will never work another day in your life.

Here's hoping things take off for you.

To be honest, I want to keep it at the fun level. It was nice to get that job, but I wouldn't want to feel under pressure to find more work. The ca$h was just a bonus on top of a pleasant evenings activity. I don't want the money to become the focus of my efforts.
saratdear