FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Anyone DJ here?

Jaan
Hey guys... just wondering - does anyone DJ (pro or hobby)?
What gear do you guys have, classic or digital?

I'm just starting out.
The Mitchell
ive done a few slots back home in clubs. generally just do cd djing for rock clubs. its not djing in the sense of mixing it all etc but its fun getting to chose songs all night hehe
Jaan
You have a pretty sweet set of equipment there!
All I have is a midi keyboard for now... Rolling Eyes
mceejaydee
I wanna start. But a setup for a beginner is like too expensive for my family. $500-1000 for a good setup hm?
The Mitchell
Jaan wrote:
You have a pretty sweet set of equipment there!
All I have is a midi keyboard for now... Rolling Eyes

Aye 5 years of collecting and scrimping etc for the next bit of gear. Im generally building a recording and live setup atm. Trying to get my solo thing off the ground as soon as i get my goddamn arse in gear and finish this album. I have a good few tracks but nothing i feel is finished. And then i need the gear to gig it. Also getting a recording interface any time soon so studioage shall happen asap.
The Mitchell
mceejaydee wrote:
I wanna start. But a setup for a beginner is like too expensive for my family. $500-1000 for a good setup hm?

all i can say man is scrimp and save like a little bitch and then ebay everything you own. thats what i did pretty much. The other thing is as a general rule if your just djin small clubs with cd decks there is a good chance theyll have their own decks there. go along to some small clubs and ask if you can do n early slot with one of the regular djs thats hoiw i got into it.
Jaan
mceejaydee wrote:

Nah m8.... just need a few programs, easily availible... and then a hardware mixer. Look at the x+session pro, looks good for a starter, and only $100.