FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Perl regex help

a_dubDesign
I'm a perl noob, and need some help figuring out the regex for time in hh:mmAM/PM kind of deal, and any single digit hour doesn't need a leading 0. It seems like it would be simple, but I just can't get it, and its driving me nuts!
santium
I recommend the site www.Regular-Expressions.info because they have great tutorials and plenty of examples on how regexs work. There is also a "cheat-sheet" on how to do simple things like what you are asking. The reason I won't tell you straight out is because it'll be better to go through and find out how regexs work and what is being done, etc.
a_dubDesign
thanks for the link and all, but not all that useful. Maybe I should be more specific. I know about all the operations and whatnot, but since this is my first real experience with regexs I need a little help getting everything to click together. The only issue I'm really having is getting the hours worked out so there doesn't have to be a leading 0 for the single digit hours.

1[0-2] works great for the double digit hours
[1-9] works out great for the single
then I try alternation doing (1[0-2]|[1-9]) but it gives me everything from 1-19, which is the closest I've come to it so far. I've moved stuff around, and tried some other stuff out of mass desperation, but haven't gotten anything yet.

Here's the whole thing in case there's other suggestions anyone could make to clean it up.
m/(1[0-2]|[1-9]):[0-5][0-9](am|pm)/i
hexkid
Code:
/^(?:1|2|3|4|5|6|7|8|9|10|11|12):[0-5][0-9](?:a|p)m$/i
Kaneda
Or this:

Code:
/^(?:(?:1[0-2])|[0-9]):[0-5][0-9](?:am|pm)$/i

... this assuming you don't want to capture the parts, otherwise:
Code:
/^((?:1[0-2])|[0-9]):([0-5][0-9])(am|pm)$/i

Which captures hours into backreference 1, minutes into 2 and pm/am into 3.
hexkid
Kaneda wrote:
Code:

Is "0:42pm" a valid time? Smile
a_dubDesign
you guys are awesome.