FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

FreeBSD - Is it reliable and secure?

Alias
Hi guys, well I've just download FreeBSD to check out and try it. I'm a newbie to UNIX platforms and I think that FreeBSD would be suitable for me. Also I'm planning to use it as a web server to my web-based application projects. I just need some suggestions and conclusions in using FreeBSD as my desktop OS and as well as using it as a web server.
{name here}
Alias wrote:
Hi guys, well I've just download FreeBSD to check out and try it. I'm a newbie to UNIX platforms and I think that FreeBSD would be suitable for me. Also I'm planning to use it as a web server to my web-based application projects. I just need some suggestions and conclusions in using FreeBSD as my desktop OS and as well as using it as a web server.

FreeBSD isn't the best if you don't know how to set it up and use it - it's like Slackware only without as much of a headache when setting it up(and how it organizes itself is better that Slackware, IMO). After you get it all rigged up its a great and stable OS.
WickedGravity
{name here} wrote:

FreeBSD isn't the best if you don't know how to set it up and use it - it's like Slackware only without as much of a headache when setting it up(and how it organizes itself is better that Slackware, IMO). After you get it all rigged up its a great and stable OS.

Just about all there is to say about it really, not particularly my cup of tea, but that doesn't mean it isn't a perfectly normal, secure and functioning OS.
Alias
WickedGravity wrote:
Just about all there is to say about it really, not particularly my cup of tea, but that doesn't mean it isn't a perfectly normal, secure and functioning OS.

Sorry I didn't get your point, could you discuss it more precise so that I could be enlighten. Thanks! Smile