FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Installing Wordpress?

The Mitchell
Could anyone help me with installing wordpress. i cant seem to work out how to setup the database to work properly. i know nothing about databases either. im afraid im a beginner at this but pretty quick to learn if anyone can help.
degenre
In your Control Panel, click on "Manage Databases"..
Create a new database specifying name, username and password..
Once database has been setup, it will give you overview of details to access database which should be:

- Database name (name of the database)
- Host Adress (mostly always localhost)
- DB Username (the username you specified to acess the database)
- Db Password (the password you specified to access the database)

Copy this info into text file and save..

Those 4 details are all that you need to install wordpress.. When you run the installation of wordpress, the first thing it will ask if for those details.. once you have entered those details and wordpress is installed successfully, you don't need to worry about anthing else to do with the database..

If you would like to view the actual database, you can enter phpMyAdmin (link is also in your Control PAnel) and click on the database name you specified when creating the database, and then can view all tables and data stored by wordpress in your database..

Well i hope this helps Wink ask any questions if you get stuck yo
wumingsden
Edit: the above method also works. I guess I'm a little slow at typing Embarassed

The Mitchell wrote:
Could anyone help me with installing wordpress. i cant seem to work out how to setup the database to work properly. i know nothing about databases either. im afraid im a beginner at this but pretty quick to learn if anyone can help.

to create a database go to http://mokita.frih.net:2222/CMD_DB_CREATE?DOMAIN=mokita.frih.net

Use the following:

Quote:
Database Name: themitch_wordpress