FRIHOST • FORUMS • SEARCH • FAQ • TOS • BLOGS • COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

A parrot...

rainmaker
Hello everyone...

I must confess I've been slacking and haven't posted for awhile now. Sad

Anyway, I was just wondering if any members out there have any kind of exotic bird. Even though I am only a college student right now, I plan to get one after I finish with school.

I was wondering if any of you could offer me some tips and/or suggestions in owning a bird. I am thinking about a macaw, but really that's not for certain.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

--rainmaker
Daisie
Plan for long term, parrots can live up to 60 yrs.....
Jeyon
Daisie wrote:

Shocked 60 years? Are you kidding? Shocked

That's long, almost live long like humans. Confused That's awesome
DaComboMan
Daisie wrote:

Hi Daisy,

I've been away from the "bird world" for a while.
Some types of Parrots can talk can't they?
ashok
yes they can... here's a link about one such parrot..

http://www.budgieresearch.homestead.com/

The main focus of the site is about a budgie named Victor who had a vocabulary of more than 1000 words and understood their meanings as well.
DaComboMan
ashok wrote:

The main focus of the site is about a budgie named Victor who had a vocabulary of more than 1000 words and understood their meanings as well.

Thanks ashok!

Will take a closer look at it when i get out of the kitchen today.

Living in a community, i'm looking for a pet that i can take around with me and not be a hassle. Dogs and cats seem to be out of the picture as living in the country side they either get hit by cars or disappear in the woods (coyotes lurking around) and it's hard on the guys who like animals to see them suddenly disappear. Broken affections are hard with people and when we lose an animal, it can be almost just as hard. I did say almost!
Daisie
yes parrot live long !