You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Any other Bassists out there?

I play bass, which completely owns electric guitar any day. I love playing jazz, rock, and blues; well, I like playing just about anything as long as it has it's own individuality and, of course, if it sounds good.

I've been playing for just over a year. I have to admit it's much harder than guitar (which I played for about two years).

I can play alot of simple bass lines, a few more complex ones, like Red Hot Chili Peppers (but only their basic stuff! like Zephyr Song, Dosed, Give it Away).

At the moment, I have a British made ( Dancing ) Wesley bass, but it's just an imitation of a Fender Jazz Bass.

So, are there any other bassists here? Tell me everything!
Hey there, I've been playing bass for a couple of years now, i know exactly what you mean compared to guitar.

Simple bass riffs will always get the guitarists saying "thats easy, guitar is much harder" but more complex bass playing is by far harder than guitar. I play a little bit of electric guitar as well so I can say this for sure!
I think that one of the most difficult things playing the bass is to keep the rhythm...
The Mitchell
bass is ace. so is guitar. as are effects. things with lights make me smile Smile
yeah, im a bassist.

the question has to be asked:

Do you use a pick?

because unrtill recently, i had gone by the rule: piucks are for pussies

but then i saw matt freeman at a rancid gig using a pick, and seeing as i idolise him, i might have to rethink my rule....

i been playing for about 4 years, bass is easy, i just cant make up stuff, im not musical at all, wack a tab in front of me and i will play it, but im just not a musical guy really. Sad
The Mitchell
Yantaal wrote:
because unrtill recently, i had gone by the rule: piucks are for pussies