FRIHOSTFORUMSSEARCHFAQTOSBLOGSCOMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

GIMP?

hellgod
do any of you use GIMP? you can use it for windows if you download the runtime envt. its cool n not resource hogging like PS..

get it from http://gimp.org
Defsanguje
Phil
I've been using GIMP for windows for a couple of years now and I've really been impresed with the stability of the last couple of releases. If it gets any better, Adobe may want to do some serious re-thinking of the price of their Photoshop. That what got me to try it out in the first place..... that it was free.
I have a list of GIMP sites here: http://phil.frihost.net/graph_lay.html

My personal favorite is http://www.GIMPTALK.com. A very informative site.
hellgod
ah thanks for the links phil was useful for me
althalus
On the contrary I think The GIMP is rather unstable. It could be becuase I'm running on Windows 98 (my old machine can't handle ps too well). I agree, it doesn't hog a lot of resources, but when it crashes for no apparant reason when trying to create a folder or overwrite an existing file... Wink
littlegiant
Yeah I also had some problems running Gimp on Windows 98. I've just recently upgraded to Win XP about 3 months ago (okay nobody laugh) so I'm eager to try it out on XP to see if I have the same issues. Next on my list.
snowboardalliance
I have GIMP on win98 and it's not too bad as far as stability. The features are good enough for me (I'm not gonna pay for ps)
SamiTheBerber
I use GIMP because it is free and it came with my linux. It is easy to use. I had to resize some pics at work, so I needed a program so GIMP was own in it, because I waste huge amount of money for something I use once ...
THE11thROCK™
Yeah, I think GIMP is good maybe better than Corel or PSP. But not better than PS CS. The thing is GIMP is free - it's the best deal with it. Very Happy
Tieskevo
THE11thROCK™ wrote: