FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Best way to learn about Unix OS development

teko
Hi all,

I want to get started in Unix OS development or some kernel hacking. I have some experience in C programming but I dont know much about Unix OS internals. I've installed Linux and Solaris and worked with them but would like to get a better idea of whats under the hood

I've checked out amazon and I think I will read the books by Tannebaum and Bach on OS design for a start.

But to keep my interest up, I would appreciate if anyone could give some ideas as to how to get some basic hands on experience with a unix like OS. I'm expecting a steep learning curve but all ideas or opinions would be appreciated.

Which OS would be the best to start with? Minix, Linux, BSD?
Traveller
Although many things have changed over the years, the book that has usually been considered the book to get is The Design of the UNIX Operating System by Maurice Bach, which is probably the "Bach" you mentioned in your message.

Minix was part of the origins of Linux, but there has been recent development of a more complete, up-to-date Minix (e.g. http://www.minix3.org/).

As far as which to choose: it would probably be better for you to keep that discussion in either in the already well-established "What is your operating system?" or "I want to get Linux, Which one is best?" threads, while reserving this thread for the discussion of learning about how UNIX actually works.
WickedGravity
Here is my two cents on the matter.

Yes, books are good, I will never do anything to tell people not to read. If you read you understand the fundamentals and the background of what youa re trying to accomplish.

However, the best way to learn how to hack a kernel is to load a *nix on a worthless machine and just play. Go to message boards and look for stuff that sounds fun, see if it works, try it again with combinations of other things.