FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Photography - focus help

fionab
Hello fello photographer's I am new in the world of SLR photography and have recently purchased a Canon 350D or as it is known in the USA Rebel. I find that even though I hold and allow the camera to auto fosuc 1st I still do not get a well focused pic. I amd also trying to ensure the focus points are a the correct place. What tips and tricks do you have for me. All ideas and links welcome.
Liu
Zoom in all the way with your lense and focus first, then unzoom to a point where you want the shot to be and take the picture. Make sure you have appropriate lighting so that your shutter speed can be high enough such that you can hand hold the camera. If it's not, use a tripod.

If this doesn't work, there may be a faulty in the lens.
hunterm
Are you taking pics in low light conditions?

If so it could be due to a slow shutter speed resulting in camera shake.

Make sure there is plenty of light.
That the aperture is set correctly (depending on what you want to achieve)
Then make sure the shutter speed is fast enough. (if being held in your hand 1/60th second min - or slower if using a tripod and trigger/timer)

Loads of guides on the internet.

Oh yeah make sure the image is in focus Smile

P.S Ive heard that ff you wear glasses it could affect your focusing of the camera.
HoboPelican
I'm not familar with the rebel, but two things are gonna give you a fuzzy shot. Bad focus and, as Hunterm said, too long of a shutter speed. Remember, of course, that 200 is really 1/200th, so as the number gets bigger, the exposure gets shorter. So, 30, 15, etc will give you a blurry shot unless you are using a support of some type.