FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

i desperately need help

amish.gir
I am a real newbie to this site thing. i just uploaded my site through dreamweaver in the public_html folder. I then went on my site and it still has the original page on it. amishgir.frih.net , please help me i really need some quick help, i dont know what i am doing wrong. It just says if you want to change this page upload your site in the public_html folder. I dont know what to do.
ocalhoun
Did you name your site 'index.html'?
If it is anything else (including 'Index.html' or 'index.htm') It will not load unless you add it's name to the end of the url (yourURL.frih.net/yourpagename.htm)
SpellcasterDX
You also have to delete the default index.html or index.php page that says "Your site goes here" or whatever in order for your own index page you made and uploaded to appear. Laughing
ocalhoun
^That should happen automatically (or after being prompted) when you upload the new one, that is if the new file has the exact same name (which it needs to).
amish.gir
ok thanks ill try that....wow you must think i am a complete fool. Sorry for wasting your time. Thanks once again
amish.gir
I have changed my site name to index.html but the .gif files with it cannot be seen...i dont know why...their permissions are correct (644) but i still can't see them...also my site is to one side i made it for 600x800 and i wanted, ideally, in the middle of the page....sorry for the probably silly questions but i need help again. Thanks.
mathiaus
A link to the page might be ideal as you provided no code or description of how the page was created.
amish.gir
my site is amishgir.frih.net i used dream weaver to create it. let me know if u need anymore info.
mathiaus
Visiting that site I get a 403 Forbidden which suggests you dont have an index page (or your blocking my IP but the former is more likely). What is your file name?