FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

just asking a simple question for you...

yhally
im sorry to ask this but i really dont know what is domain, subdomain, webhosting and so on... plz somebody tell me about that... ill appreciate it much....

i'm just a newbie in the internet world and im just curious about that..
i'm planning to have a site but the problem is HOW!

i cant figure it out how.....

sorry again to ask that kind of question...
ninjakannon
OK, yhally, I'll explain a few things.

If you want to have a website you need to get a domain. The domain is the place where you keep all the files for your website; the domain name is the name of it. For example, the domain name of this website is frihost.com; and they store all their files on a server somewhere.

Frihost offers web hosting; this means that they will host your website for you. Basically you can get a subdomain (I'll explain this later) on frihost.com and then you will be able to put files onto the server and people will be able to go to your website and see them.

Now, on your domain you can set up subdomains. If Bondings (the person who owns this website) was to create a subdomain called "sub" on www.frihost.com, then you would go to it by going to www.sub.frihost.com. The subdomain acts as a separate website. When you get hosting on frihost.com, you get a subdomain to put all your files on. This will be www.name.frih.net (where "name" is is the name of your subdomain. You can put your files on here by two methods:
Firstly there are web pages which allow you to upload files onto the server in your subdomain.