FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Fedora - Problem with sound and internet

carlospro7
I have just installed Fedora Core 5 in my laptop (Compaq Presario V3030US)
and I everything installed just fine, but when I ran fedora I noticed the sound and the internet were not working. I'm new to linux, and fedora is my first actual experience with linux. Any help would be greatly appreciated, but since I'm new I ask that you explain anything in a way that's possible to understand..
{name here}
carlospro7 wrote:
and I everything installed just fine, but when I ran fedora I noticed the sound and the internet were not working. I'm new to linux, and fedora is my first actual experience with linux. Any help would be greatly appreciated, but since I'm new I ask that you explain anything in a way that's possible to understand..

Fedora has often been noted to be crap. You might want to try something like Ubuntu, Slackware, Debian, or FreeBSD to try and get it working from there. If your laptop is old it may be because they phased out the drivers or you have some hardware without drivers built for them.
carlospro7
{name here} wrote:

If your laptop is old it may be because they phased out the drivers or you have some hardware without drivers built for them.

It's actually pretty new. 64bit
{name here}
carlospro7 wrote:
{name here} wrote:

If your laptop is old it may be because they phased out the drivers or you have some hardware without drivers built for them.