Hi, guys -
I got an email from smithlinks11@gmail.com. This looks like a spam email sent to a lot of webmasters to request that they post a link to a particular site. I looked around at some web sites similar to mine, and seems like some people actually posted the link.
While sometimes legit businesses hire dicey "online marketing" companies, the web site itself looks suspicious to me. It has very obvious manipulative SEO, such as dozens of unnecessary links to subpages just to make keywords a repeated link. It also has strange testimonials - all from anonymous "managers" and "directors" of unnamed institutions.
When I googled smithlinks11 I found nothing. Under just "smithlinks" I found some pretty strange stuff.
What I'm trying to figure out is whether I should report this to spamcop and warn the other people who posted the link. I won't bother if this is just incompetent SEO. However, if this is a spammer takng advantage of gullible people, I want to do what I can to stop them.
Has anyone here heard of "smithlink"? Any tips on how to research this?
I got an email from smithlinks11@gmail.com. This looks like a spam email sent to a lot of webmasters to request that they post a link to a particular site. I looked around at some web sites similar to mine, and seems like some people actually posted the link.
While sometimes legit businesses hire dicey "online marketing" companies, the web site itself looks suspicious to me. It has very obvious manipulative SEO, such as dozens of unnecessary links to subpages just to make keywords a repeated link. It also has strange testimonials - all from anonymous "managers" and "directors" of unnamed institutions.
When I googled smithlinks11 I found nothing. Under just "smithlinks" I found some pretty strange stuff.
What I'm trying to figure out is whether I should report this to spamcop and warn the other people who posted the link. I won't bother if this is just incompetent SEO. However, if this is a spammer takng advantage of gullible people, I want to do what I can to stop them.
Has anyone here heard of "smithlink"? Any tips on how to research this?
