FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

NVU Vs Frontpage

PANOSP
Hey gyus, i have a question here. Which software is best, NVu or frontpage???

It is my first time creating a web site, and i do not know which of these 2 i should use

Thanks Very Happy
Aless
I personally like NVU better, but it's probably because I've always found FrontPage confusing & a bit simplistic.

Since they're both free, why don't you just download them, try them, and then make your own decision.

Actually, FrontPage might not be free. So then definitely NVU, because I hate paying for software!
jongoldsz
I really don't like either, but from what I've been hearing, Dreamweaver is pretty good for beginners. Although, the price of Dreamweaver makes most people agitated. If anything, you should try frontpage, since it is very simple, and learn how to code HTML over time.
snowboardalliance
Or, instead of using a WYSIWYG editor, make it easier for yourself later and learn HTML with just a text-editor. That way you really understand it and as you get better, you have more control over the code.

It's not very hard.

But if you just want to make a website quickly, these are fine. I just personally think learning without a WYSIWYG editor I now know a lot more about HTML and CSS.
Commando_Sondre
Well, I don't use any of these, but I would use NVU! It's much, much better then FrontPage.
manumiglani
Well NVU is surely a good tool to use. I have always used nvu on linux. But, I have to say that its really buggy.

Frontpage seems better for newbies. It has lot of build in templates too. I will certainly recommend you to start with Frontpage.
Indyan
I prefer Nvu
Ranfaroth
Between NVU and FrontPage, no need to hesitate : drop immedialty the awfull FrontPage.

NVU is currently the best WYSIWYG editor. But you should have a look to KompoZer which is a bug-fix release of NVU.
tomardern
I prefer Dreamweaver Very Happy
Stubru Freak
NVU!