FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

[Ubuntu] OpenGL

Arno v. Lumig
Hello,

I've just recently downloaded an game and when I tried to start it it told me that I should install OpenGL, and check if my video card supports it. I am sure my video card supports it, but I can't remember I ever installed OpenGL on linux.

Is there any way I can do this? The manufacturer of the graphics card did not send a cd with linux-drivers...

The graphics card I'm using is an NVIDIA MX 420 (ancient thing...) and I'm using Ubuntu Dapper Drake.
My processor is 1,6GHz AMD 32-bit.

I'm rather new to linux, so forgive me that I don't know these things...

Greetz,
Arno
Nyizsa
Do you have an NVIDIA driver installed? I think you can get it from their homepage, but it must be also available from the repository.
If you have it installed, try installing the xlibmesa-gl package.
Arno v. Lumig
I have downloaded the right NVIDIA driver, but when I try to install it it says that I have an X server running and that I should disable it.
How do I do that? X -terminate returns error:

Code:
root@arno-desktop:/home/arno# X -terminate

Fatal server error:
Server is already active for display 0
        If this server is no longer running, remove /tmp/.X0-lock
        and start again.

root@arno-desktop:/home/arno#

The exact error message NVIDIA gives me is:

Code:
 ERROR: You appear to be running an X server; please exit X before
         installing.  For further details, please see the section INSTALLING
         THE NVIDIA DRIVER in the README available on the Linux driver
         download page at www.nvidia.com.

My grahics card is an NVIDIA GeForce MX 420 (I guess...)

Other information on the driver-tingies:
Code:

root@arno-desktop:/home/arno/Desktop# egrep -i 'driver|dri|glx' /etc/X11/*.conf
        Load    "dri"
        Load    "glx"
        Driver          "kbd"
        Driver          "mouse"
  Driver        "wacom"