FRIHOSTFORUMSSEARCHFAQTOSBLOGSCOMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

.NET or JAVA

akshar
As a final year graduate I am soon going to join the Indian Software industry.

I am fairly good in JAVA (J2SE and J2EE) technologies at the same time I am also interested in .net and I believe I can learn them very easily.

So what should I do in order to get a better future and demand?

I have been told by many people that JAVA except J2ME has no future ...
Is that true?

Please offer you valuable advise
James007
Moved to scripting >> others...
HoboBarticus
I would highly recommend investing time in .NET

I think it extends much farther then Java does in todays world and in the future. But it really depends.

I am a college student right now, and I'm study C/C++ and Java. I personally hate Java so I might be quite a bit biased.
kv
If you are already familiar with j2ee, invest time in it. .net is a lot easier than j2ee. Once you have expertise in j2ee, switching to .net is not a problem. Go with j2ee and keep experimenting with .net a little. This way you will have dual advantage.
akshar
kv wrote:
If you are already familiar with j2ee, invest time in it. .net is a lot easier than j2ee. Once you have expertise in j2ee, switching to .net is not a problem. Go with j2ee and keep experimenting with .net a little. This way you will have dual advantage.

Your advise was very helpful but I find J2EE very similar to ASP.NET but there is lot more to .Net than just ASP.NET

Do you think such a switchover will be easier for me and if I have to switch why do I got to J2EE in the first place?
kv
akshar wrote:

Do you think such a switchover will be easier for me and if I have to switch why do I got to J2EE in the first place?

You should go with j2ee since you are already familiar with it and hence will not be starting from scratch.