FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

What is PR and what we can do?

khanhsduong
Hi all.
Can you letb me know what is PR?
thanks
ryanh2006
Hi there! My name is Ryan and I am a marketing undergrad so I would be more than happy to help ya out!! PR is an abbreviation for Public Relations and it plays a crucial part in any organization. Most people think of corporations when they hear the word organization but in fact the corporation is just one type of an organization.! Others include Churches, The Red Cross, Universities, Green Peace.... the list goes on and on. My point is that PR is crucial to any organization's sucess. PR is a critical Marketing function that basically deals with projecting a unified message to your customers. Basically its the continuous communication between the organization. and its customers whether they be shareholders, students, or volunteers. You tell them what your organization. is about, why its important to them, and why your organization should matter to them. PR is usually talked about in way greater detail in Marketing books but this is a kinda rough idea of what it is and why its important to any organization.. I hope that this helped! Take care, bye Very Happy
insanesnoopy
Just to add ot the above comment.

Defined by the Public Relations Society of America.

Public relations are activities that help an organization and its public adapt mutually to each other.

But really the best way to describe it is doing the right thing then telling people about it - by using publicity and other forms of non paid communication opportunities to inform those whose positive opinions favorably impact your organization.

It can be broken further into the following fields

Media Relations
Employee or member relations
Community Relations
Industry Relations
Government Relations
Issues and crisis management