You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Are you blue collar?

I'm a plumber. It's not the career I would of expected to have; but for the time being, it is what it is. Imo, the experience has definently expanded my outlook on working. It's tough work. Ive spent many days in a trench over my head with no shade, in the nice cool 110 degree weather of a florida summer. Ive spent many days in 135 degree attics for hours on end. The conditions suck. I wont lie to ya. But it has set a benchmark in what I am able to accomplish and endure.

My job involves a lot of face to face time with customers in their own home. Sometimes I wonder how I am being percieved by those I work for. Do they think that I am an intellectually challeged brute; or just "smarter than the average bear," if ya know what I mean?

I do manage to get nice paying side jobs when I'm looking. Between web design, and graphic art projects or installing a waterheater, the plumbing jobs usually pay out the best. Works out well, I can allot my time doing designs for other as a relaxation medium. Wink

What are your experiances in blue collar work?
The quote below from Wiki describes me.

Please Use Quote Tags wrote: