FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

How to make Global Variables with PHP?

wangbin218200
Hey, im kinda new to php, i have some experience programming with it, but i was wondering if there are such things as Global Variables with php, like the $session variables with ASP? a variable i can pass to another page to make something with it, but without the need to put it in the address bar like this : hxxp://www.something.com/login.php?var1=value&var2=value.
I want this two variables for example to be "global" so that i can use them in anothere php page.
Thanks.
Roald
You could use method post or you could use cookies or you could use session.
rohan2kool
hxxp://www.something.com/login.php?var1=value&var2=value

1. it should be http:// rather than hxxp://

2. You can refer to these variables like: $_GET['var1'] and $_GET['var2']. That's a much better way (read: secure) to do it rather than using global varialbes.

3. If you want to use ASP like global variables, first note that ASP sucks. Secondly, to do this you need to set the php.ini directive 'register_globals' as 'on'. Now, you can do this only and only if your server is under total control of urself. Most hosting services don't allow you to edit the php.ini file, so you have to use $_GET[], $_POST[], $_COOKIE[] and $_REQUEST[] arrays.
Philip
sure there is

Code:
session_start();
if (!isset($_SESSION['login'])) {
  $_SESSION['login'] = true;
}

this will make the $_session['login'] alway have true value in all pages, Smile and as long you dont close the pages.
snowboardalliance