You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Healthcare: Working in an Emergency Room.

Do you work in healthcare?
Yes, I work in the field (EMT, Paramedic, Firefighter, Flight Nurse, etc.)
 25%  [ 1 ]
Yes, I work in a clinical emergency setting (ER, Doctor's W/O Borders, etc.)
 25%  [ 1 ]
Yes, I work in a non-emergency clinical setting (CT, Family Medicine, Maternity, etc.)
 0%  [ 0 ]
Yes, but it's really a desk job (Medical research, etc.)
 0%  [ 0 ]
 50%  [ 2 ]
Total Votes : 4

In a few weeks, I'm starting work at the local hospital in the ER. I will work as a Patient Care Technician, a job which my EMT certification qualifies me for. The hospital is equipped with both a trauma center and a burn center.

My eventual goal is to get my RN and CCT certs, and work as a flight nurse.

Is there anyone out there with experience in these fields? I would love to hear some ER stories, or even field ones if someone is a fellow EMT or Paramedic out there. Any advice would also be great Smile

I've been interested in First Aid and medicine as long as I can remember. I'm an Eagle Scout, and took all the medical related activities, including being a lifeguard.

What about everyone else out there? I'd like to start some kind of medical / health care thread, seeing as how most of them are related to technical computer aspects (not that I don't talk in those ones as well! Wink
Good job outlook in this area in general. ER jobs are always available (really high burn out rate). You will see ALOT!

The only word of warning would be talk to many people about the flight nurse job. Those jobs are few and very sought after. They also are very selective of the physical characteristics of the flight crew (they want small, light people.. to fit in the frame).