FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

child domains

mwellsy
hi all, i'm new to all this, and have brough a domain name and am now plugging away, learning all about how hosting works and also how asp and php work.

when i registered for a domain name i noticed that i could also get a child domain, (you know eg. www.child.domain.net) but am unsure how to config a child to a host, (it wants an IP when i set it up, but am not sure whos IP i should use.)
do i need to set up a seperate host account for a child?
do i need to make some arrangement with my chosen host?
does a host need to be able to support child domains?

i'm wondering if anyone knows how child domains work?
mathiaus
-moved-

I assume you mean sub domains? If you havent changed your name servers at your registrar you can point you main domain and sub domain to different locations using an A record which is the IP of the server you want them to point to. So you can create domain.com and point it to frihost (via DNS) and then create a subdomain on frihost and both will be hosted on frihost OR you can point domain.com to frihost via an A record, create sb.domain.com and point it to a different host.

You shouldnt need a diffferent account depending on the number of domains/subdomains you are allowed. At frihost you have the one account and host unlimited domains/subdomains.

Yes you will need to add the domain and/or subdomain in your control panel so the server knows to go to your account.

If using DNS method your host will need to support subdomains, is using A record they will need to allow you to add your own domains. Both are Ok at Frihost Smile
mwellsy
thanks,

my host is stuffing me around with my account, and i am usure of how things work on the host side.

just to confirm,

for the domain name - i create an account with my host then point both ns1 & ns2 to that host (i got that bit okay)

this is where it gets fuzzy for me,