You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Books for sale website.

Ok, I have my website up. I have been trying to decide if I actually wanted to post it here or not because you all are sometimes a bit harsh on the critique! Smile But, I think I can handle it.

I am NOT a web designer, I sell books. This is a quickie site to put up until my son makes me a better one. I probably won't make much if any changes to this one.

So, I guess I am ready, what do you think?
Not bad for your first attempt. Simple, but I kind of like the muted color scheme. That banner/ background image is quite relaxing. Couple of things though you might want to think about when your son re-makes it for you...

The buttons (text links on the left) are a little too big and spaced out.

Actually, everything is a little too big. Try and leave some space on the all sides. Less of a margin between the navigation and the main content. Make the logo at the bottom a little smaller.

You don't have tons of information. What you do have is good but needs to have some hierarchy to it. For instance, make the line 'We are glad you're looking for books...' bigger. Skip a line then make 'Who we are:' bold or bigger. Then fill in that info. Do the same for the rest of the sections. You already have it setup for different sections, just divide it better.

One last thing. On your links page, it would be nice if you could add a short description of what the site has to offer since a lot of the URL's are rather long and non-descriptive.
Hey, great start on this website!
I agree with what eruct had to say above and have a few more ideas.
For example, have you thought about adding a blog or a forum as a resource to other homeschoolers? This might be a great way to start getting traffic to your site through telling friends and other homeschool parents you come into contact with.

I think you have a great start here and can't wait to see how it turns out.