FRIHOSTFORUMSSEARCHFAQTOSBLOGSCOMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Studying abroad

freakinlame
Hey all, just want to ask for any experiences when you study abroad. I'm a Malaysian but I'll be studying in Ireland next year for medical degree. so it would be great for anyone to share their experience about staying far away from home. It doesn't have to be Ireland, can be anywhere in the world. Talk about your difficulties, your happy moments, your problems and jsut about anything..
ncordell
i studied in paris last semester. it was a great experience and i would definitely recommend it. it is important to make sure and not expect everything that you have at home. try everything. don't be surprised if every once in a while you just need to go to mcdonalds. make a list of the things that you want to do before you leave and make sure that you finish the list.
jennahenrywagner
I studied abroad in London a few semesters ago (I'm a recent grad). I had an absolutely amazing time, and the thing about London (which can be either considered good or bad) is that it's not that much of a cultural difference. I mean, there definitely are distinct differences, but for the most part the people are similar, the language is the same, and it's overall just very easy to live there. I actually traveled to Ireland while I was in London. I went to Dublin for St. Patrick's day (great time, you'll love the Temple Bar area). I also traveled more around Southern Ireland later in the semester (County Clare, Shannon, Killarney, etc.).

The number one recommendation that I have in studying abroad is to travel as much as possible. Go broke if you have to, but this is presumably one of the only times that you'll be so close to so many amazing places and sights. I visited Ireland (like I said before), Scotland, Paris, Prague, and Barcelona (all of which I highly recommend). Studying abroad is an amazing experience...take advantage of it!
freakinlame