FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

overclocking limits

technology.sponge
im new to the overclocking scene but so far hav had a fiddle with my pc:

P4 1.6ghz - 1.7ghz
pci clock 33mhz - 35mhz
ram 133mhz - 140mhz
fsb 100mhz - 106mhz
bus speed 400mhz - 424mhz
(pentium 4 willamette, 0.18um, 256kb L2, voltage and multiplier i didnt change)

is there some sort of rough formula or guide to give a general idea of how far a system can be overlocked? as im using stock cooler and dont want to spend money on buying new ramsinks or cpu cooler i dno how far i can push it
ezekiel_rage
technology.sponge wrote:
im new to the overclocking scene but so far hav had a fiddle with my pc:

P4 1.6ghz - 1.7ghz
pci clock 33mhz - 35mhz
ram 133mhz - 140mhz
fsb 100mhz - 106mhz
bus speed 400mhz - 424mhz
(pentium 4 willamette, 0.18um, 256kb L2, voltage and multiplier i didnt change)

is there some sort of rough formula or guide to give a general idea of how far a system can be overlocked? as im using stock cooler and dont want to spend money on buying new ramsinks or cpu cooler i dno how far i can push it

I have used to always mess around with my machines. I used to always make it a point to overclock my machines.

Used to. Thats the key phrase in my post.

You see. Overclocking was real fun during the old days when processor power is at a premium. But today, with the advent of fast processors and bus technologies, overclocking is not really a neccessity anymore.

You see, with a good procesor/Motherboard/RAM/Video Card/Hard disk combination you can have the optimum performance out of any PC without having to mess with the clocks.

But enough about that.

To answer your question, the general rule of the thumb is to overclock incrementally, using the smallest unit increment as possible.

Meaning you just can't tell the limit. Its a long process of trial and error.