FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Questions about best image formatting...

quex
So, a short introduction. I'm a graphic designer, trained mainly in design for print. I've taken a few multimedia classes, but the little details about things like image formatting for optimum display online and compression of files continue to elude me.

Here's what I know:

1) The three formats that can be seen online in most browsers are JPG, GIF, and PNG. As I understand it, JPG is for full color with fine gradients and no alpha layer, GIF is for limited color with an alpha layer (and can be animated), and PNG is for full color without fine gradients, and with an alpha layer (recommended as the web display format for images that were built with vectors, rather than raster).

2) JPG files can be saved in varying degrees of quality, usually on a 1-12 or 1-20 scale, depending upon the image editor that they are compiled in.

3) JPG files can deteriorate over time with "handling" of the file, resulting in JPG artifacts (funny blotches).

And HERE is what I would like to ask the community about:

1) Are there any special uses for these filetypes that I'm missing? Am I correct about what I know so far? Is there a fourth or fifth widespread graphic type that can be used in browsers? (Please, I want to know everything!)

2) What is the difference between the compression types offered for JPG files? For example, Photoshop mentions "baseline" and "progressive," but I've never been able to solidly understand what each of these options means... is one better for graphic quality than the other?