FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

sound card

NuniPio
what would be a descent sound card, nothing tooooo expensive. im on a very low budget. the sound card needs to have optical output, and headphone output. can be internal or external. ive had a look at some creative ones and they seem pretty good, i just dont know if its worth the money.. is it??
alkady
Creative's SoundBlaster! Live, External or Internal. Its 10,000x better than the generic soundcard like the RealTek or Legacy-esque Sound cards. It cost around $24.95-49.95 CDN, In USD it's lower.
Donutey
Live! is a good card, sometimes you can get Audigy 2 (refurbished) sound cards for $20 - $30.
NuniPio
is it really worth the money? would it make a difference compated to onboard sound? im not a pro sound tech but i do like good sound quality. thanks
psycosquirrel
My Live! failed on my in less than a year, it is really a horrible card. On my new motherboard, it would have actually been a downgrade from the onboard...

What motherboard are you getting? It may be a downgrade like I said...

The Audigy2 would be awesome. You can't go wrong with that card.
SGbilder
I would really recomend the "Hercules Gamesurround Fortissimo 4" with the Envy24HT chipset!! It has excelent sound quality for the money.

Maby if you play more games you should go for the Audigy LS or something but if you're watching a lot of films or listening to music this is a great card!

It has optical out and headphones + much more... I can really hear the difference from my onboard sound and the Fortissimo 4, when I'm listening to my headphones it's like night and day! No more rasping distorted sound, just clear enjoyable music! Very Happy
NuniPio
psycosquirrel wrote:
My Live! failed on my in less than a year, it is really a horrible card. On my new motherboard, it would have actually been a downgrade from the onboard...