FRIHOSTFORUMSSEARCHFAQTOSBLOGSCOMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Is this code safe, or not?

Marston
Is this code in unsafe? I'm pretty new to MySQL, and I don't want my site to get hacked... (I know I haven't connected to the db in the script- that's on purpose).

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Code:
<?
require_once('/path/to/database/connect/file.php');
mysql_select_db("marston_memsys");
$result = mysql_query("select * from members");
$r=mysql_fetch_array($result);
$userid = $r["user_id"];
$username = $r["username"];
$regdate = $r["user_regdate"];

switch($mode) {
default:
echo "Sorry! No content here...";
break;
case "view":
 switch($id){
 default:
 echo "non-existant member";
 break;
 case $userid:
 echo '<a href="'.$userid.'">'.$username.'</a> - Member since: '.$regdate;
 break;
 }
break;
}
?>

It's for a custom built member system. This particular script is to fetch and display information on members. The profile is accessed by going to profile.php?mode=view&id=64. I know that the script works, I just want to know if it's hackable.
Kaneda
I'd say it's as safe as it gets, since you're not using any user-supplied values in your SQL statements. However, are you SURE it works? Wink You're selecting all your members, but only fetching the first row (member), so your case statement would branch to non-default if the first user in your members table has the supplied user_id.

The usual way to do it would be:

Code:
mysql_query("SELECT * FROM members WHERE user_id = $id");

However, in that case, you'd need to ensure $id is a number with is_numeric (if user_id IS a number) - otherwise, the user could enter, for example

Code:
1 OR 0 = 0

... which would turn the query into:

Code:
SELECT * FROM members WHERE user_id = 1 OR 0 = 0

... which would select all users (not so bad in this case). With various trickery he could insert any kind of SQL code into your query.