FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Looking for advice on making a good video game based website

WinterShadow
I've been thinking about making some game guides (mostly ones having to do with more detailed topics since I don't have enough free time to sit down and write a whole walkthrough) for my site, but before I do, I think I could use a few opinions...

Are game guides something that's become so commonplace that nobody would be interested in looking at them? Is there anything specific people might need help with or want me to write about? And are there any things that I could add that might make my website more unique? I was thinking something along the line of screenshots, since you don't see those as much...

I'm a bit of a newbie at this topic, so any advice would be appreciated! Smile
Nameless
Video Game Guides are very commonplace... just search and you'll find tons of them for just about any game - even the less popular ones. So, if you want your site to be successful you'll need to offer something SPECIAL about the guides that makes them stand out from the rest. Most guides and walkthroughs do tend to be text only, so using screenshots and pictures (say, of level maps) could be a good idea to attract more viewers. Writing on specific topics of a game rather than a whole walkthrough might reduce the number of people who read them (only more 'hardcore' fans will read them) but on the other hand since they are less common that will work in your favour. It depends on your target audience - are you aiming to make easy to follow guides for the general public? Detailed analysis for the hardcore gamer? Good guides for less popular games? Humourous guides that are fun to read? The important thing is to make something unique - or at last uncommon - that attracts more people.
sgwreviews