FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Deleted the Recovery Partition of my pc......

Simulator
Hi All, I'm a noob when it comes to installing Linux, and well I really screwed up this time, by deleteing the Recovery Partition of my PC, so I can't reinstall XP........... Anyone got any ideas?

My computer is a HP Pavilion a330.uk
webbone
Bad things,my brother,I think you can use other recovery software to test,like finaldata...
ezekiel_rage
Simulator
O for crying out loud! I had that disc sitting right in front of me the whole time!

I will give that a go now, thanks
thiamshui
You don't actually need a recovery partition to reinstall Windows XP. Just install using your Windows XP CD.. If you don't have one, you can borrow from your friends but use your own CD-Key which came with your computer..
Simulator
I thought there was all this genuine crap now with micrsoft though....
turbosquid
I would first try the ultimate-boot-cd and try to recover the data.

On my girlfriends PC she has recovery partition when i checked it out with "partition manager 7" it says that it's a FAT32 partition but it would not allow me to read the data on it. So i'm not to sure if a recovery program would be able to recover it or not, but it's worth a try.

Secondly if all else fails you can still use your windows registration key to install windows from a CD if you have one. You should find a sticker on your PC which shows your windows registration key it looks somthing like this :-

http://www.microsoft.com/resources/howtotell/static/images/coa_page_pc-sysbldr.jpg

you can also recover your windows key from a working windows partition using this little program:-

http://www.magicaljellybean.com/downloads/kf141.zip

ITS NOT ILLEGAL to recover YOUR OWN registration key, but obviosly don't use it on anyone else's pc as that would be illegal, immorall, and theft!

good luck
Simulator