FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

I graduated... Wow...

ehecatl
Holy crap! I'm done with high school...

Five years ago, when someone asked me, "Where do you see yourself in five years?" I would have answered, "Graduating high school," or "done with school" or something like that... It was a sure thing, one of those things that you just thought was a no brainer... like, duh...

Someone asked me today... "Where do you see yourself in five years?" And you know what I said? I stared at the person and said, "You know what? I have NO clue... I could be done with college, having kids, be married... I could be dead! I don't know..." And we all sat there for awhile... Just pondering, thinking about the real world... Thinking to ourselves, "Where WILL I be in five years?"

We're grown up and out of high school now. Our whole lives are changing. We're realizing how big the world REALLY is, seeing the opportunities and the downs of the world. We're moving off to bigger places, and seeing bigger things... We have our whole lives ahead of us... Our goals aren't just to get through high school anymore... Some of us don't even HAVE goals... Questions now aren't "Am I gonna pass this class?" "What class should I take next next year?" "Am I gonna graduate?"

Questions now are "What am I gonna do with my life?" "How am I gonna make my life worth while?" "Where do I want to go in life?" "How long will I even be alive?" Okay, maybe that last one is a little dramatic, but you get the point...

Our school lives, no matter how long they seemed, were only a SMALL part of our worlds... There aren't some odd number of teachers and adults to look out for us anymore. Our lives are our own and WE have to make the best of them.

I guess what I'm trying to say is... Congradulations Class of 2006, and good luck in the real world. I hope y'all, and myself, succeed in life.

P.S.: WE STILL HAVE A SUMMER TO ENJOY!!! ^_~