FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Web hosting

lurch003
Hi

I'm what you could call an absolute beginner and have very basic knowledge of making a website.

I've registered the domain name and am looking to purely use it for baby pics and news etc so free hosting is right up my street.

Also, I'm a little impatient and I've tried reading info and how to threads but get a little confused which then leads to more impatience.

So got the domain name. Working on the hosting. What program is best and pretty to use for making the pages??

Thanks Very Happy
Bondings
Well it depends on how much you know about html. You can code it yourself in a text editor like notepad or one with highlighting and preview like editplus.

Or you can use a WYSIWYG (what you see is what you get) editor like frontpage.

Of course you can also use Microsoft Word/Open Office to create pages, but in this case they will look ugly most likely.
TeenZine
Bondings how do you upload using Microsoft Word I want to try it just for laughs.
Bondings
TeenZine wrote:
Bondings how do you upload using Microsoft Word I want to try it just for laughs.

I meant making a html page, not uploading. When saving, you just choose the .html extension.
anthonygerbils
yeah i was a beginner and still am but i used frontpage for a while and it worked out great so if you want an easy and simple design then frontpage is what you should use.
otherwise learn html which may take ages but is worth it as then you control exactly what shows up .
lurch003
THANKS GUYS

Had a play with frontpage at the weekend and after a bit of trial and error have now got a page (www.charliemoss.co.uk), and just clicked "publish remote site" after enabling the option on the directadmin page.