FRIHOSTFORUMSSEARCHFAQTOSBLOGSCOMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Violinists/Musicians?

Balthamos
Anyone else play the violin? If so, I need a piece to play Very Happy. I've been playing for a little over 6 years.

~Balthamos
joxang
Hey! I'm in my final year studying violin (and piano) at the royal college of music jd.

What level are you at? Have you started any concertos?

I recommend Kreisler's 'Schon Rosmarin' and 'Liebesleid', and also the more difficult 'Liebesfreud'. All three are from his Vienniese suite and are among my facourite pieces.

Another slightly harder, but very famous piece is Monti's 'Czardas'.

Those are my favourites...but we really need to know how good you are! What are you playing at the mo?
Balthamos
I'm a high school student, so I just play there. I'm in the top orchestra there, and I love playing. Well, I haven't really been playing any solo pieces lately (except some test etudes, which involve lots of unnecessary shifting, as always). I have looked at some works by Paganini, whom I believe to be way above my level. Some full orchestra pieces I have played lately is the Polovetsian Dances by Bordin and some other stuff like that. I also played William Tell Overture, but I found that pretty easy. I have also looked at some of the solo parts to some of the movements in Vivaldi's Winter, but those can become extremely difficult. Right now, I'm trying to learn a little Concerto written by Bach (found here)

~Balthamos
joxang
lol, that 'little concerto' is the extremely famous 'double violin' concerto. it's a fabulous piece, but you'll need to find someone to learn the other part.

If you can play the william tell without much trouble then you should be able to play the 1st two kreisler pieces. Paganini is generally *very* hard :p...maybe another few years. The borodin is a really beautiful piece...maybe you could find a arrangment for violin of the cor anglais solo...
Balthamos