FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

New to Linux

sergi
I've always been sitting in Windows operating system. Now I'm having a Linux 2.6.10 distribution and nothing known about Linux except that it is a linux distribution. Actually, I am a web programmer and familiarity with linux OS seems to me important. Does linux have good user interface design? On the whole is it worth trying it and what advantages shall it give?
{name here}
The advantage of Linux, Plan 9, and BSD systems is their very high level of customizeability and security. Unlike windows, you have no standard GUI - you can install multiple ones, with each one having a unique interface that may or may not be able to emulate another OS's GUI or have none at all. Linux will bring you security that will disallow most spyware and adware from even being able to run. Some distros are more like windows like Fedora, which keeps the command line away from you, removing the true unix expirience, and making it a bit bloated. Others like FreeBSD come with only the command line installed by default, and you can customize the OS to your liking, also removing the bloat while keeping the unix expirience alive.

Try it. I'll bet you'll like it.
lSaKenl
Look, Linux its good because: its free, it is open source and it has no backdoors just like windows systems

it offers diferents styles it depends in what you want, if you are a web programmer i'd suggest you to get Slackware or Suse, y? easy, because it has an apache server included PostgreeSQL MySQL and a couple things that would work, if you arent interested in learning and spend time configuring your system i'd suggest suse, y? due to its friendly style and easy configuring system, no dependencys worrying and those kind of things due to its great manager called YAST2

i wish it could help ur curiosity ^^
Shake