FRIHOST FORUMS SEARCH FAQ TOS BLOGS COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Electricity -> hanging a lamp

Tvis
I recently moved. You know how that goes, one of the things is...hanging new lamps. So for example I bought this halogen lamp for the kitchen. Comes with 3 wires, in, out and earth. I take away the things in the ceiling to be able to connect the lamp. Take out the electricity. Connect incoming, outgoing and the earth. Connect the electricity, hit the lamp button and... BANG.

I feel insecure, the building security guy from downstairs changes the plug so that I have light in the appartement again Laughing and tells me there is a electrician down the street. This guys helps me hanging the lamp, now without earth. And it works.

Now I'm wondering, WHEN do you use earth and when not? I'm not an electrician, but I'm a logically thinker. And I am used to fix things in the home. I live in Mexico (110V country). I'm originally from Holland (220V country) and used to connect to earth when I'm able to.
mariohs
I don't know about it in Mexico... but usually if you see 3 places behind your light interruptor, they're NOT for in, out and earth... I usually use the 3 places for multi point interruptor (to turn on the light on 1 place and turn off in another and vice versa). When you connected the earth together, and you closed the circuit, you short-circuited earth and 1 of the phases... that's why the BANG. I usually use earth for showers, and some other stuff.
Someone correct me if I'm wrong...
adiutrix