FRIHOST • FORUMS • SEARCH • FAQ • TOS • BLOGS • COMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

photography

edallica
hi folks!

i was looking at getting into photography but i would really like a good intorduction. its really hrad to find one on the web...does anyone know ehere any are?

im looking at finding out about things like what values of ISO to use and in what situation and how to use the appature etc.

any help would be great,

cheers!
nikolic
I am a professional photographer.

You are right. There is a lot to learn if you want to know the technology well.

However, it's my view that this isn't totaly neccessary. Instead, shoot a lot and learn your tools well enough so they don't get in the way of what you want to see in the world or say to the world. It is more important to think about what is important to you as an individual then to know every technical detail there is to an imager or studio lighting. Should you decide to ever go pro, this is what assistants are for... Wink

An ISO is a standard of light that corresponds to the photosynthetic chemical properties of film. They only corresponded to this in the first place, but ISO is ultimately how sensitive a digital imager within a camera will act.

The higher the ISO, the more sensitive the imager will act. Like film.

The part of film that "sees" is actually an emulsion (a semi-liquid that is really good at holding things other than itself in susupension) that has silver particles that oxodize when exposed to light. ISO numbers correspond to the size of the silver particles. When hit with light, the very small particles go completely black. So the larger the particle, the less light is needed to make it trigger, and the less light is needed to make the image as a whole. The flip-side, however, is that there is more visible grain to a larger ISO in film.