FRIHOSTFORUMSSEARCHFAQTOSBLOGSCOMPETITIONS
You are invited to Log in or Register a free Frihost Account!

Copyright Law

Billwaa
I am just wondering what is the Copyright Law really about. Is it illegal to download any movie or music? Or is it just on illegal to upload them? I am very confuse because I heard different people saying different stuffs. I am not that good at English, so I can't really understand the bill or law or whatever form that thing is written in. Can someone share what they know?
Blaster
Copy writes are confusing sometimes. You can copywrite anything for free. (I belive) So if you want to put a movie one your site from google it is fine. Becuase you are not changing any copywrite laws. As long as you give them creidet and don't say it was just you. Very Happy Hope that helped.
Vrythramax
the actual "Copyright" protection is in itself free, but it does cost some $$$ to process the documents via a lawyer or firm.

Downloading some music/videos is very free, but you must be careful to observe that the actual site you are downloading from is legit...meaning it is an "Official" source for the product.
Traveller
No lawyer or firm is required, and official copyright protection is NOT free.

The only copyright that is free is what is called "common-law copyright." In general, that means that if you have written something, it may be considered copyrighted (and it only helps a little bit more if you put the actual symbol and date on it). The problem with common-law copyright is being able to prove it in a court should a dispute arise. Some people will send themselves registered mail (real paper, not email) so that they have a copy of the document with an official date on it, but not everyone considers that to be legally sufficient.